Practice room/studio

Gestart door dreamer, mei 31, 2013, 06:24

« vorige - volgende »

Omlaag

dreamer

Hello good people and fellow bashers,

I am an expat drummer, living in Amsterdam for the past 2 years or so. Moving here unfortunately also meant I had to sacrifice my private space where I had my beloved Roland TD-20 set up.

After all this time without a kit of my own and being tired of going to oefenruimtes to play, I am trying to find a way to rent a space so I can set up  my electronic kit but also buy an acoustic one, so either I have to rent a room, say 10-20m² somewhere remotely, or be able to sound isolate it.

Does anyone here have a brilliant idea on how I might achieve that? The only thing I've been managing so far is browsing drumstores, making dream setups and sighing out of desperation..

Thank you for your time!

PS: Sorry for my ineptitude to speak Dutch, that's another issue I've been struggling with.

Headshrinker

Hi,

Finding an affordable room is not easy, as you know. Sound isolation is difficult and expensive (especially if it's not your own place).

I guess it would help if you knew people in the countryside. E.g. a farmer who wouldn't mind you storing and playing your drums in his/her shed. But this involves travelling (probably more than what it takes to get to your 'oefenruimtes').

Personally, I would stick to practice pads at home and do the 'full-out drumming' (with a band) in a proper rehearsal room.

musiqman

Check out muzyq un amsterdam east. they have drumrooms for 10,- an hour.

dreamer

Thank you guys for the replies.

@Headshrinker: Yes, that's what I have been thinking of but it's too challenging for me at the moment to find such a place. Thank you though for the suggestion.

@Musiqman: That's where I go when I play :) The main problem with that ordeal is that I have to carry on me my cymbals, my double-bass pedal, and spending a good hour to set things up the way I like them and then take them apart.

Headshrinker