Zildjian Gen16 Review

Gestart door Murgen, sep 30, 2012, 11:14

« vorige - volgende »

Omlaag

Murgen

Ik heb toestemming om deze review op het 2Box forum over te nemen voor ons. Ik denk dat dit verhaal de moeite waard is!

Hi everyone!

A newbie here; I'm not a drummer, but I run a duelling piano band in the Netherlands, and I came across a review for the Gen16 here.  We've been using the Gen16 cymbals for nearly a year now, and I think we're probably at the front end of the user experience, as we were the first people to get them here in NL.  My descriptions may not be very 'drummer'-like, and for that I apologise ... I am but a lowly keyboard vocalist! :-)

Firstly, although much of what I have to say is necessarily critical, I want to applaud Zildjian for their innovation; aside from the 'issues', the system does what it is supposed to do, and makes my sound engineering job easier, whilst keeping my drummer happy!

Our Drum Set-up:  we use a Pearl ePro Live set, running into a Roland TD9 module, because we didn't like the lack of functionality on the Pearl Red Box.  We are currently moving to purely sample-based drums (minus cymbals), using Battery running through Logic / Mainstage.  We use the Gen16 14" hi-hat, one 16" cymbal, one 18" cymbal and the standard ride, and of course the Gen16 module.

Our FoH & Monitor Set-Up:  we use a JBL VRX system, in both pole mounted and line array configurations, with Crown iTech 4000 amps, and a set of JBL SRX728 sub.  We use IEMs exclusively.

Our 'Style':  like most piano bands, we play covers, but probably slightly harder than would be the case in my experience in the US.